Kathmandu Valley Travel Informations and Travel Guide

The Kathmandu Valley is a bowl-shaped valley located in central Nepal. Kathmandu Valley, Nepal's cultural and political capital, is made up of three districts: Kathmandu, Lalitpur, and Bhaktapur. Kathmandu Valley is also called the city of the Temples. Kathmandu Valley includes hundreds of temples, and monuments, including major Hindu and Buddhist pilgrimage sites.

Seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites are located in Kathmandu Valley. They are all worth visiting and spending time exploring. You should try to see as many of them as you can throughout your visit.

The World Heritage sites in Kathmandu Valley:


Swayambhunath is also called the "monkey temple". On the west side of Kathmandu, Swayambhunath is the most sacred Buddhist pilgrimage site among Buddhists and followers of Tibetan Buddhism. Due to the large number of monkeys living there over the ages, Swayambhunaath is also named "Monkey Temple".

Patan Durbar Square
Patan Durbar Square

Patan Durbar Square is a must-visit historical place in Kathmandu Valley. Patan Durbar Square features the palace and numerous temples including Krishna temple, Bhimsen Temple, Vishwanath Temple, and Hari Shankar temple. Patan Durbar Square is located in the southern part of the Kathmandu valley and was previously the royal palace of the Patan kings.

Pashupatinath Temple is an extensive Hindu temple complex with cremation ghats.

Boudhanath Stupa
Boudhanath Stupa

Boudhanath Stupa is the largest Buddhist stupa in Nepal with many monasteries in the area.

  • Kathmandu Durbar Square:

Kathmandu Durbar Square, also known as "Basantapur Durbar Square" or "Hanuman Dhoka Durbar Square," is one of the Kathmandu valley's most visited sites and is located just a short walk from Thamel, the main tourist center in Kathmandu Valley. It is an interesting destination to visit because of its historical significance, gorgeous Newari architecture, and arts & crafts culture.

  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square:

Bhaktapur Durbar Square is one of the Kathmandu valley's most visited sites and is located in Bhaktapur District.

Changu Narayan Temple
Changu Narayan Temple is Undergoing construction

Changu Narayan Temple in the small village of Changunarayan has a traditional Newari settlement and a Hindu temple with inscriptions from the 5th century.

Thamel :

Thamel is a main tourism business area in Kathmandu, Nepal's capital. Thamel has been the heart of the Kathmandu Valley's tourism economy since the hippy era. It is regarded as a tourism hub inside the Kathmandu valley.

Thamel is famous for its small streets teeming with businesses and sellers. Food, fresh vegetables/fruits, pastries, hiking gear, walking gear, music, DVDs, handicrafts, souvenirs, woolen items, and garments are all often sold things. The streets are also lined with travel agencies, tiny grocery stores, inexpensive motels, restaurants, taverns, and clubs. Cars, cycle rickshaws, two-wheelers, and taxis coexist with hundreds of people on these tiny streets.

Thamel is commonly recognized as the heart of Kathmandu's nightlife, with a diverse choice of restaurants and cafés, live music, and other attractions popular with both tourists and locals.

Quick Facts About Kathmandu Valley

Where is the Kathmandu Valley?

The Kathmandu Valley is in central Nepal.

What is Kathmandu Valley known for?

It is famous among tourists due to hundreds of temples, and monuments, including major Hindu and Buddhist pilgrimage sites and rich culture.

How many districts are there in Kathmandu Valley?

Kathmandu Valley is located in central Nepal and is made up of three districts: Kathmandu, Lalitpur, and Bhaktapur.

Which is the oldest city in Kathmandu Valley?

Sankhu is the oldest town in Kathmandu valley.

Can you see Everest from Kathmandu?

On a clear day, Mount Everest may be observed from a hill station in Kathmandu Valley (Nagarkot, Chovar, Champadevi).

When was Kathmandu Valley listed in the World heritage sites?

The Sagarmatha National Park and the Kathmandu Valley were the first sites in Nepal to be added to the list, both in 1979.

How many World heritage are there in Kathmandu?

Nepal has eight cultural sites and two natural sites enlisted as UNESCO World Heritage Sites, with seven of them located entirely inside Kathmandu Valley.

What are the three Durbar Squares in Kathmandu Valley?

The most well-known, worth visiting Durbar Squares in the Kathmandu Valley are Kathmandu Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square, and Bhaktapur Durbar Square. All three are enlisted as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

Explore More Kathmandu Valley

Latest Articles